You are here: Home - News -

Government names 39 developers who signed remediation contracts and 11 who haven’t

  • 14/03/2023
  • 0
Government names 39 developers who signed remediation contracts and 11 who haven’t
The Department for Levelling Up has confirmed that 39 developers have signed contracts committing them to remediate unsafe buildings which they developed.

The department gave developers a six-week deadline at the end of January to sign contracts to fix unsafe buildings.

The signed agreements will raise at least £2bn for remediation costs.

The contracts require developers to take responsibility for “all necessary works” to “address life-critical fire safety defects” for buildings over 11 metres built and refurbished in the last 30 years.

It also calls for developers to keep residents in buildings informed of progress and to reimburse taxpayers for funding spent on remediating buildings.

The contracts reflect a public pledge which was agreed to by 49 developers last year, and once signed the contract is legally binding.

The government said that 39 had signed the contracts, and four who had signed the pledge were found “not to have developed building within the scope of the contract” so were not required to sign at this stage.

The four developers not within scope include Davidsons, MacTaggart & Mickel, Robertson and Wain Homes.

It noted that they could be asked to sign in the future if information comes out showing that buildings they developed were “in scope”.

However, 11 developers have not yet signed the contract, and the government reiterated that “eligible developers who refuse to sign the contract or fail to comply with its terms face significant consequences”.

It said that those who did not sign “would not be able to operate freely in the housing market”.


The 11 non-signatories

The 11 developers who have yet to sign include Abbey Developments, Avant, Ballymore, Dandara, Emerson Group (Jones Homes), Galliard Homes, Inland Homes, Lendlease, London Square, Rydon Homes and Telford Homes.

Secretary of State for Levelling Up, Housing and Communities Michael Gove said: “I have been clear all along – those that are responsible for this crisis must pay. So, I am grateful to those developers who have done the right thing today by signing this legally binding contract.

“We will be monitoring their progress on remediation very closely, to ensure this work is completed urgently and safely. For those developers that have taken responsibility, today offers the chance for a reset, so we can get on and build more of the safe, decent and affordable homes we so desperately need.”

He continued: “To those developers that have failed to sign the contract without good reason, let me be very clear – we are coming after you. If you do not sign, you will not be able to operate freely in the housing market. Your investors will see that your business model is broken – only responsible developers are welcome here.

“But today should not be about developers, or about government. Today is about innocent leaseholders. I want to put on record my apology to all leaseholders for the years of misery and hardship you have endured. You should never have been ignored, asked to pay and let down.”

“Today marks a turning point – and an important step towards resolving this crisis. There is so much more to do, but I will always act to protect leaseholders and end this injustice,” he added.

The 39 developers who signed can be found below.

  1. Allison Homes Group Limited
  2. Barratt Developments PLC
  3. Bellway PLC
  4. The Berkeley Group Holdings PLC
  5. Bewley Group Limited
  6. Bloor Investments Limited
  7. The British Land Company PLC
  8. Cala Group (Holdings) Limited
  9. Canary Wharf Group PLC
  10. C.G. Fry and Son Limited
  11. Churchill Retirement PLC
  12. Crest Nicholson Holdings PLC
  13. Croudace Homes Group Limited
  14. Fairview Holdings Limited
  15. Frasers Property (UK) Ltd
  16. MJ Gleeson PLC
  17. Grosvenor Group Limited
  18. Hill Holdings Limited
  19. Hopkins Home Group Limited
  20. Jelson Holdings Limited
  21. Keepmoat Limited
  22. Land Securities Group PLC
  23. Lifestory Holdings Limited (also covers Anthology Group)
  24. McCarthy & Stone Limited
  25. Miller Homes Limited
  26. Morgan Sindall Group PLC (parent company for Lovell and Muse)
  27. Morris Homes Group Limited
  28. Persimmon Public Limited Company
  29. Redrow PLC
  30. Rowland Group Limited
  31. Sorbon Group Limited (parent company for Shanly Homes)
  32. St Modwen Group Holdings Company Limited
  33. Story Homes Limited
  34. Strata Homes Group Limited
  35. Taylor Wimpey PLC
  36. Tilia Homes Limited
  37. Vistry Group PLC
  38. Weston Group PLC
  39. William Davis Homes

There are 0 Comment(s)

You may also be interested in